Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Filling graph with data via code (Read 4687 times)
MUDO

Filling graph with data via code
May 5th, 2009 at 8:28pm
Print Post  
Hi!

Im new in using Chart component.

Currently I would like to create two lines on line graph via code. I dont care about labels on X axis these are not important for me. I want to create those lines from 10 000 values. I have these values in array.

What should I to set? Which property? I have problems with setting YData and working with YData.Item. Is it right to work with array? Or collection is better?

Based on info from docs I need to set also values of X axis. But it is odd always to create collection with numbers from 1 to 10 000 (or another).

And what does ClearData method really do? In docs thers only "Clears any data from the chart."

I know, so many questions... but it looks like it is really simple, but I dont know to set proper values and properties. Pls give me instructions how to do that.

Thx

...MUDO...

IP Logged

Stoyo
God Member

MindFusion support

Re: Filling graph with data via code
Reply #1 - May 6th, 2009 at 9:41am
Print Post  
Hi,

This sample line chart shows two arrays, each with 10 000 random numbers, ranging from 0 to 100. The chart would not be very legible when all 10000 points are displayed on the screen, so it's set to scrollable:

//set the data
const int dataCount = 10000;
const int listCount = 2;

Random rand = new Random(10);
double[][]data = new double[listCount][];

for (int i = 0; i < listCount; i++)
{
     data[i] = new double[dataCount];

for (int j = 0; j < dataCount; j++)
           data[i][j] = rand.Next(100);
}            

lineChart1.YData.Clear();
lineChart1.XData.Clear();
lineChart1.YData = data;

//appearance settings
lineChart1.ChartPens = new MindFusion.Drawing.PenCollection("n:0/#FF0CB00C/1/0/0//0/0/10/,n:0/#FFFF0000/0/0
/0//0/0/10/");
lineChart1.LineType = MindFusion.Charting.LineTypes.Line;