Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Enumerations renamed (Read 2621 times)
Peter
YaBB Newbies

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Enumerations renamed
Dec 22nd, 2005 at 9:15pm
Print Post  
Hi,

I am more or less happy with your control, but there is something I just noticed that happened between version 3.* and 4.*. It appears, that most (or all) of the enumerations have been renamed. Being a developer I understand the need that arises sometimes to make certain changes that may break existing code in order to fix something. I trully dont understand why I had to recompile and fix numerous places in my code in order to fix the enumeration names.  ???

IP Logged

Slavcho
YaBB Moderator

tech.support

Re: Enumerations renamed
Reply #1 - Dec 23rd, 2005 at 5:38am
Print Post  
Hi,

The old enumeration names remained from the ActiveX days, the names were copied without change from the FlowChartX OCX control when we ported the ATL/C++ code to .NET/C#. Now the .NET type naming guidelines state that no prefixes and abbreviations should be used in type names, so we decided it's about time to start using that naming convention. Indeed we should stick to the .NET convention from day 1, now I can't remember why the old names remained back then.

Anyway the VS 'Replace in files' command should help changing the enum names quickly, we were able to update the FlowChart.NET samples in 15 minutes by just starting the replace operation from the samples root folder.

Finally that should help a bit making source code more legible, because now you don't have to mix the naming conventions, e.g. by using say "GraphicsUnit.Point" and "EImagePos.imgTopLeft" in the same code block.

If anyone has troubles with updating your code to the new enum names, send it to me and I will fix it personally  Lips Sealed

IP Logged

Slavcho
YaBB Moderator

tech.support

Reply #2 - Dec 23rd, 2005 at 5:41am
Print Post